Greens to Stand in Every Ward in Manchester This May

7 April 2018

The Green Party have announced that they will be standing at least one candidate in every ward in the upcoming local elections in Manchester.

Standing a total of 38 candidates across all 32 wards of Manchester in the local elections on the 3rd of May, Manchester Green Party has reported record numbers of potential candidates this time round. Party Chair Adam King had this to say:

"The Manchester Green Party has made tremendous progress since the last local election. This progress is evident through the Party contesting every seat in the Borough. Manchester Green Party candidates are passionate community members, and they recognise that an unopposed Labour Council is not a healthy democratic situation for the people of our city. As a Party, we will continue to ensure that we do everything that we can for the people in Manchester, and we hope that this election is the spring board to a fairer, Greener city."

Following a series of local election and by-election wins in recent years, The Green Party currently has over 160 councillors across England and Wales. Despite there not being a Green Councillor in Manchester in some time, Whalley Range candidate Issy Patience is optimistic, believing that ‘Manchester residents are ready for fresh ideas and different voices in the Council chamber’. She also said:

“I'm really excited that residents throughout Manchester can vote Green in every single ward in the upcoming May 2018 local elections. Many volunteers have dedicated their time and energy to make sure all the nominations are in on time. It's very important that we continue to work hard to ensure that the balance of Manchester City Council is readdressed with fair representation from across the political spectrum.”

The Party has a progressive and forward-thinking local manifesto, developed by members of the party.

Complete Candidate List

  • Ancoats and Beswick - Eliza Tyrell
  • Ardwick - Samantha Goodchild
  • Baguley - Sarah Mander
  • Brooklands - Rob Nunney
  • Burnage - Lance Crookes
  • Charlestown - Astrid Johnson
  • Cheetham - Dave Taylor
  • Chorlton - Nigel Woodcock, Mary Crumpton, Anne Power
  • Chorlton Park - Brian Candeland, Mary Candeland
  • Crumpsall - Penny Swann
  • Clayton & Openshaw - Paul Brunger
  • Deansgate - Chris Ogden
  • Didsbury East - Wendy Lynas
  • Didsbury West - Arnold Spencer
  • Fallowfield - Adrian Brian Thompson
  • Gorton - Melvyn Newton
  • Harpurhey - Victoria Matthews
  • Higher Blackley - David Halligan
  • Hulme - David James, Melanie Horrocks
  • Levenshulme - Ieuan Hall
  • Longsight - Bernard Ekbery
  • Miles Platting and Newton Heath - Paul Madley
  • Moss Side - Kirstine Pearson
  • Moston - Eithne Quinn
  • Northenden - Simon Gray
  • Old Moat - Bonnie Boulton
  • Piccadilly - Kara Ng
  • Rusholme - George Salomon
  • Sharston - Dick Venes
  • Whalley Range - Issy Patience, Matt Schreibke, Stephanie Wyatt
  • Withington - Adam King
  • Woodhouse Park - Chris Waldon

Donate to MGP

You can make a one-off or monthly donation of any amount to Manchester Green Party via Paypal. You don't need a Paypal account to donate, and your donations directly help us work towards a sustainable, green and just Manchester. Thank you.

Follow MGP on Twitter